Review of The Joy of Hate

51CFnZ3L4TL._AA160_I love Greg Gutfeld. He has the courage to say what few will, and in his book, The Joy of Hate: How to Triumph in the Age of Phony Outrage, he does just that. Gutfeld satirically critiques the Left’s definition of “tolerance” and wittily demonstrates how shallow it is. As a reformed liberal, who now considers himself a libertarian, he knows from whence he speaks. Gutfeld destroys every straw argument that liberals throw out in our current culture with devastating thoroughness. However, he does not restrict himself to liberal sacred cows; he goes after some conservative ones as well. There were times this reader cringed, but Gutfeld’s points were always thought-provoking and humorous. I think I chuckled at every page.
Gutfeld’s commentary is intelligent, informative, irreverent and funny. I wish more conservatives spoke without fear. One important note: Gutfeld uses the language of the Left against them. Some of it is irreverent and could be offensive, and the reader should be cautioned. However, The Joy of Hate is still worth the read.

About Katherine Wacker

Katherine Wacker is currently a reviewer for Bethany House Publishers, and Howard Books. She is a Craftsman graduate of the Jerry B. Jenkins Christian Writer’s Guild. She holds a B.A in History from San Diego State-Imperial Valley Campus. In her spare time she likes to read books, watch sports, and do jigsaw puzzles. She lives at home with her parents and three dogs, Charlie, Roscoe and Daisy.
This entry was posted in Devotional, My Book Shelf. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review of The Joy of Hate

  1. diannegsagan says:

    Good review, Katherine. I enjoy your thoughtful viewpoint.

  2. Thanks for the encouragement, Katherine! I have “Joy of Gutfeld” on my Amazonk wish list. Will likely wait until I have finished the first draft of “HATCH Book No.2” (not the title.) I mostly agree with his take on things and especially love his take-no-prisoners, in-your-face approach to casual debate. Greg G. is plenty smart and aware of current events. He is a bit more Libertarian than I am. I can’t get a good answer from my Libertarian friends when I ask, “Just exactly HOW would that actually work?” They don’t seem to realize that just wanting to wave a wand and make it so will NOT fix/change a thing. I ask, “How are your wishes any more or less unrealistic than the pipe dreams of the just-dropped-in-from-Nirvana Left?”

    • I agree. I don’t agree with the drug legalization/open borders/pro-abortions views of libertarians.I think those things would actually increase the size and scope of government through welfare payments, etc. It is contradictory from their vision of a smaller government. That is why I am a conservative.

Leave a Reply

