Taking the Punches

By Gwen Hernandez  |  May 3, 2024

Ever taken a punch to the face? I have.*

Sometimes getting feedback on a manuscript feels very similar. I’m shocked, my head is spinning, I’m a bit bruised, and I want a nap. And maybe some dark chocolate, or a hug.

Taking criticism is hard, even when you ask for it.

I think the best writers ask for it. (Thanks to Ray Rhamey, we’ve all read what happens when the best writers stop asking for it.)

I’m lucky to have found critique partners I can trust to be honest with me. They’ve saved me from some serious mistakes and helped me sharpen my skills. Early in my career, I scrapped my (rushed) sophomore book that had been professionally edited and already had a cover, because multiple people I trusted said it wasn’t good enough. And they were 100% right. I didn’t even revise the book; I just wrote a new one from scratch.

An outside reader can see character issues that I can’t, the key elements I’ve failed to articulate because they’re clear in my head but not on the page, and the threads I dropped three chapters back because I was so focused on writing a kick-ass finale. 

But my friends don’t leave me bleeding on the mat. They also tell me what they liked, what’s working in the story, and what made them laugh or cry (in a good way). They’ll happily help brainstorm solutions and read revised sections.

And I do the same for them.

It’s like having a good sparring partner. They reveal your weaknesses and force you to improve your technique to avoid getting hit again.

If you’re looking for your own critique partner, here are a few things to consider:

  1. Find a good match. Not everyone is going to be a good fit. Experiment with a few people before you commit. Ask:
    • Is their feedback actually useful? Are they too mean or too nice? Can they articulate what’s wrong without trying to change your style or voice?
    • Do you have a similar writing speed (so no one feels taken advantage of)?
    • Do they understand your genre? (While an outsider’s view can be helpful for general feedback, it’s also good to work with someone who’s familiar with your genre’s expectations.)
    • Are your skill levels similar? Unless they’ve signed on for a mentorship role, a seasoned writer may not have the patience to work with a newbie, and a newer writer may not have the skills to provide valuable feedback to someone with many books under their belt.
  2. Know yourself. Not everyone is cut out to take blunt, detailed feedback. If you’d prefer a high-level overview that only points out glaring plot holes or egregious character issues, say so. A list of specific areas/elements you want feedback on can help set boundaries for both of you. And when it’s your turn to read for your partner, ask what they need in return.
  3. Consider the timing. How early/often do you want feedback? I once tried turning in each chapter as I wrote it, but found that getting opinions too early in the process killed my creative drive. Now I wait until I’ve finished the manuscript and gone through all the revisions I can do on my own before letting anyone read a word. On the other hand, you might find that having a chapter due to someone every month helps keep the words flowing.
  4. Trust your gut. All feedback is just one person’s opinion or experience of your manuscript. Even a paid editor. In the end, it’s still your work. Take the responses that resonate and ignore the rest. But…
  5. Pause first. If you try to deal with feedback before you’ve finished processing it emotionally, your ego is going to get in the way. I have to let the manuscript sit for a day or two after reading my critique partners’ comments. This gives me time to move past the defensiveness. I know I’m ready to start revisions when ideas for fixes start bubbling up in my brain.
  6. Two or three readers might be better than one. Not everyone will connect with your story in the same way, but when more than one person mentions the same issue in your manuscript, you know it’s worth a look.
  7. Don’t be afraid to break up. If a partnership or group isn’t working for you, move on. Hurtful, overly critical feedback—or its opposite—is worse than none. Be patient and keep looking for a good match.

Getting feedback on your manuscript might feel like taking a few punches, but I think the pain is worth the result.

Have you worked with a critique partner/group? How’d it go? Got any tips I missed?

———

*All of the physical hits I took came while sparring voluntarily, wearing headgear and a mouthguard. 😉

Gwen Hernandez

Gwen Hernandez (she/her) is the author of Scrivener For DummiesProductivity Tools for Writers, and romantic suspense. She teaches Scrivener to writers all over the world through online classes, in-person workshops, and private sessions. Learn more about Gwen at gwenhernandez.com.

gwenhernandez.com

About Katherine Wacker

Katherine Wacker is currently a reviewer for Bethany House Publishers, and Howard Books. She is a Craftsman graduate of the Jerry B. Jenkins Christian Writer’s Guild. She holds a B.A in History from San Diego State-Imperial Valley Campus. In her spare time she likes to read books, watch sports, and do jigsaw puzzles. She lives at home with her parents, and kitty, Lily.
This entry was posted in education, words, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment